 
 

Lana Mir Mini Interview

Ukrainian singer-songwriter Lana Mir is about to drop her highly anticipated debut album, produced by none other than Andy Chase (of Brookville and Ivy) and Bruce Driscoll (of Blondfire). Now based in New York, Lana Mir‘s honeyed vocals and mellow pop incorporate all the elements from her musical upbringing – from the Eastern European twang of her accent to the jazz and bossa nova elements picked up throughout her seven years writing and performing in multicultural New York City. Her self-titled debut, released through Unfiltered Records on August 23rd, is a light and airy affair, fusing together all the jazz-bar vibes and sounds that make Krystle Warren and Norah Jones such popular songwriters. Check out her ingenious little cover of The Stone Roses‘ ‘I Wanna Be Adored.’ Just Lovely.

Who are you and where are you from?
My name is Lana Mir. I’m a singer-songwriter originally from Kiev, Ukraine. I’ve been living in NYC for the past 7 years. I started singing when I was in Kiev and I got signed with French Radio Station SuperNova when I was in high school. It was very exciting and I got a chance to perform at a lot of great events and venues in Kiev. My song was rotating on National Radio and TV. My debut self-titled album is due to be released on August 24th and that is something I’ve been dreaming about my whole life.

What inspires you?
I grow up in Kiev and we had limited access to Western music. I listened to a lot of Russian and Ukrainian popular music when I was a kid, and later I discovered MTV and the fashion world, which totally changed my vision. I was overwhelmed by different styles and artists from the US and Europe. I decided I had to move to NYC when I was about 11 years old – I wanted to be just like these cool artists. I moved to New York seven years later and I started singing jazz. That helped me to learn more about music and singing. I’m inspired by so many musicians. I guess I can name a few – Billy Holiday, Ella, Astrid Gilberto, Tracy Thorn, Joni Mitchell, The Stone Roses, Portishead, Ivy ,The Beatles ,The Smiths and many more.

What have you done?
My first EP ‘Goodbye Girl‘ and my black and white music video ‘I Wanna Be Adored‘ (The Stone Roses cover) were both released this February. And of course my debut self-titled album ‘Lana Mir‘ is due being released this summer on August 24th. So far that is my biggest accomplishment.

What makes you stand out?
I sing in English, but my first languages are Russian and Ukrainian. Everyone says I have a cute accent. I think this brings freshness to my sound. There are not a lot of acts in pop music who came from Eastern Europe. That part of the world is known more for classical literature, ballet, opera and art. I recorded the album in collaboration with two amazing musicians Andy Chase and Bruce Driscoll (from the indie-pop scene). The combination of my Ukrainian heritage and my voice with Bruce and Andy‘s skilful playing and songwriting makes the record a unique experience for the listeners.

The album is a breezy collection of vintage tinted-pop songs. It is 60’s inspired and I think for someone who likes Serge Gainsbourg and Françoise Hardy, but with a modern twist. You can hear some Brazilian accents with elements of jazz there too.

Where are you going?
The album release is the most important thing right now. We are playing a lot of live shows and the next one will be during the fashion week in September, which is very exciting. I’m hoping to get on tour sometime soon. Travelling and performing music are two definite things I would like to do this year.

Originally published by Rivmixx here

~ by cliveparisrozario on August 9, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
