 
 

Mike Posner Mini Interview

Mark our words, it will be just a matter of weeks before those who have yet to hear the name Mike Posner are singing along to his official debut single ‘Cooler Than Me,’ which earlier this month reached number six in the official US single charts. Born in Detroit this singer, songwriter and producer effortlessly blends pop, r’n’b, hiphop and electro to create a type of pop music that is both accessible and original – just check out either of the two acclaimed mixtapes Posner made at college, both of which have achieved something of a cult status in the States. Rivmixx would suggest keeping your eyes and ears open for the release of Mike’s debut LP ‘31 Minutes To Take Off,’ but you wouldn’t be able to avoid it even if you tried….

Who are you and where are you from?
I’m Mike Posner and I’m your new favourite singer/song-writer/producer and I’m from Southfield, Michigan. Just to give you a bit of background on myself, I started off playing drums in fourth grade and then, when I was 13, I tricked my mum into buying me a cheap keyboard and I started making beats on my parent’s desktop computer. I continued making beats for other people for around eight years and then I got sick of giving my ideas and creations to other people so decided to start singing my own stuff around two years ago. I’m putting out music that doesn’t sound like anybody else. I’ll let the critics decide what impact that makes on the music world.

What inspires you?
Real life. I truly believe people can tell the difference between artists singing something that someone wrote for them against their own tracks that mean something to them. Most of my songs are about relationships. Relationships with a few different girls as well as my own relationship with time. I remember reading history books for school and being terrified of not being in one of them one day. I would just listen to the radio and cruise the internet and couldn’t hear an artist I could truly relate to so there was a lane wide open for me and I started singing. I don’t believe my music has a genre, I just make whatever I think sounds good.

What have you done?
I’ve released two mixtapes in the US that can be downloaded from my website. I have an album coming out (‘31 Minutes To Take Off‘) and my first big single ‘Cooler Than Me‘ in November. I’m hoping to come to the UK later in the year to do live shows. I’m most proud of my new album and I can’t wait for everyone to hear it!!!!!

What makes you stand out?
If you listen to my music you’d be able to answer that question for yourself in no more than 30 seconds.

Where are you going?
I plan on having flags in my clouds! I’ve already achieved a big ambition and that was to create a work of art that sounds like nothing else out there so I just hope that people will listen to it and like it. But admittedly the toughest critic is myself.

Originally published by Rivmixx here

 

~ by cliveparisrozario on July 29, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
