 
 

Princess Nyah Mini Interview

Princess Nyah is a UK singer, rapper and songwriter who grew up in Harlesden. She first appeared on the scene with hop hop crew G-Fam but has since gone on to become a touring and recording solo artist, releasing three singles and working with the likes of he-who-can-do-no-wrong, otherwise known as Diplo. Armed with a commanding stage presence and entrancing vocals it won’t be long before she’s snapped up by a major. Join Princess Nyah as she tells Rivmixx a little more about her past, present and future…

Who are you and where are you from?
I am Princess Nyah – an Artist and an Entrepreneur. I run my own business and put out my own music. I grew up on a diet of 80’s pop music and from a young age had a passion for hip-hop. Together with a love of house music these elements have helped me introduce my sound to the forefront!

What inspires you?
As an artist who loves so many types of music it’s important to deliver music that I like and that would make me move in the clubs. At an entry level my first big tracks where Funky House however since then I have worked with Diplo, so my sound is very open and unique and doesn’t fit into any one box. I rap and sing so my material is influenced by my current piers Dizzee RascalChipmunk, and Tinie Tempah, as well as artists that sing too like Rihanna and Lady Gaga to mention a few. Every day inspires me, since when your following your dreams you have no day off and you learn something new everyday!

What have you done?
As an independent solo artist with no major label behind me, I have released a mini album, three singles and am touring up and down the country. The summer sets to send me to the Greek islands, Ibiza and many more.

What makes you stand out?
Something that makes me stand out is the fact that I’m just doing me. I’m not scared to fail, I’m not scared to try things, and I’m not scared to say what I feel. I put my heart into the music. I’m telling my story and I know a lot of females relate to it. And I’m proud to be their voice.

Where are you going?
Big things are round the corner for me! Just watch this space. Don’t want to keep the people waiting too long! God bless and pray hard.

…Be sure to check out Nyah’s latest single ‘Butterflies.’

Originally published by Rivmixx here

~ by cliveparisrozario on July 5, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
