 
 

I Blame Coco Mini-Interview

I Blame Coco is fronted by 19-year-old Eliot Pauline Sumner – better known as Coco Sumner – the daughter of rock-royalty Sting and Trudie. Her first single ‘Caesar‘ was released earlier this year and featured electro-pop artist Robyn on backing vocals. Despite signing a six-album record deal with Island a couple years back, this single was the first real release from Coco, and featured an unexpected dark, brooding sound – a distorted electro-rock number with a slight ska/raggae tinge. Eliot has recently been getting additional exposure due to her acclaimed vocal contribution to the Sub Focus hit ‘Splash.’ The debut album ‘The Constant‘ will be released later this year and you can catch I Blame Coco over the summer at any one of her nine UK festival appearances. For fans of Santigold

Who are you and where are you from?
My name is Eliot I am in a band called I Blame Coco. I grew up in Archway, and I have yet to cause an impact on a scene. We’ll see where the single puts us…

What inspires you?
I empathize with other characters in my life. I get affected by their emotions.

What have you done?
I have released two white labels and a single called ‘Caesar‘. My new single is called ‘Selfmachine‘ and it’s coming out in June.

What makes you stand out?
I think that our sound is unique. As is the songwriting. It’s a dark pop record.

Where are you going?
I’m in this for the music…I love touring! I just want to be the best I can be and inspire people around me with my music.

I Blame Coco will be appearing at EvolutionIsle of WhiteBeach Break LiveGlastonburyWireless,LatitudeLoveboxSecret Garden Party and Bestival over the coming festival season.

Originally published by Rivmixx here

~ by cliveparisrozario on March 26, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
