Robbie Williams ‘Reality Killed The Video Star’

“Don’t call it a comeback” sings Robbie Williams on ‘Last Days of Disco’. Forgetting the handful of people who considered 2006′ patchy ‘Rudebox‘ a pop-masterpiece, the world (minus America) really is looking upon ‘Reality Killed the Video Star‘ as his shot at regaining the pop-crown. And, in certain ways, Robbie has rectified his previous defeats, but not in the way many had imagined.

Fans were excited by rumours that the Robster had patched things up with his old producer and writing partner Guy Chambers (the man responsible for Robbie’s most loved tunes, including ‘Feel,’ ‘Angels,’ and ‘Millennium’). But only one of their co-written songs (‘Blasphemy’) ended up on the album. What’s more, this standard piano-ballad is actually one of the more average tracks.

Production duties instead fell to Trevor Horn, whose credits include Paul McCartney, Tom Jones and The Pet Shop Boys. ‘Difficult for Weirdos’ (a definite highlight) and aforementioned ‘Last Days of Disco’ are, therefore, very Pet Shop Boys-like. So much so, in fact, that they wouldn’t have been out of place on ‘Rudebox’ (on which the Pet Shop Boys featured).

Robbie might not have got it right on ‘Rudebox,’ but it would have been a coward’s move to suppress his creative desires and simply record ‘Escapology Part Two’. It’s good to see that Robbie hasn’t just entirely binned his experimental, electro ambition either.

Big choruses (‘Bodies’, and the catchy, cock-rock inspired ‘Do You Mind’) and pop-rock ballads (‘Superblind’, ‘Morning Sun’) should be enough to please fans of Robbie’s earlier albums. But ‘Deceptacon,’ a lush ballad with layers of vocals, shows a development of his writing-style and serves as the album’s best track.

Robbie has, arguably, made his best collection of songs since ‘Escapology’ on this. Though not quite as memorable as his Guy Chambers collaborations, Horn’s beautiful orchestration keep things tight. Many tracks remain as self-obsessed as ever but, after his wobbly X-factor performance and ‘Bodies’ being beaten to number one by Alexandra Burke in the UK singles chart, Robbie may yet regain his pop-crown.

Tracklist: Robbie Williams – Reality Killed the Video Star

01 Morning Sun
02 Bodies
03 You Know Me
04 Blasphemy
05 Do You Mind?
06 Last Days of Disco
07 Somewhere
08 Deceptacon
09 Starstruck
10 Difficult for Weirdos
11 Superblind
12 Won’t Do That
13 Morning Sun (Reprise)

Originally published by Rivmixx here


~ by cliveparisrozario on November 16, 2009.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: